Doing My Part… the Goodwill Way

Posted On September 13, 2008

Filed under Curriculum, Green, Homeschool, Life

Comments Dropped 3 responses

Week two down. Tired. Drained, but overall happy. This year I can tell is going to be a doozy… academically speaking. Its just a heavier load with a first and a fourth grader. I am covering all the bases that I might’ve let go a little the last two years. But not this year. The one thing (ie: curriculum) I have fallen in love with is Math-U-See. Ahhh, love that man, whoever he is that entrances my children into learning. They love it and want to do it first thing in the morning. Anyways, so far so good.

Ok… so now onto the Goodwill part. I am now officially a teacher… yikes for those students in my class. I am a teacher for the Dayton Christian Homeschool group or as they say, “Inschool”. We had our first teacher meeting this morning in Dayton and I am thrilled to be a part of it. Especially because my kids get to go there for FREE! A savings of $3,000! Plus I get a paycheck too which isn’t bad either. I have a home room class, a box of supplies and a list of all my students. I will have 61 students divided over 4 periods. Scary, I know…

Ok, Goodwill, I forgot. So after my meeting I headed to the local Goodwill store not expecting or wanting to buy a thing. But the treasures were awaiting and oh so tempting. Here’s list of what I found…

The Visible Man with every part, organ, eye, etc in the box!

Several homeschooling books in perfect condition (including this must-have and this classic).

A pair of Columbia snow boots similar to these ~ never worn

4 of my dessert plates that needed to be replaced from 4 broken ones.

This Lands End vest for Sam. Its so cute because he called it his “Jeep” vest because its the color of the Jeep he’s gonna buy when “he’s big”.

I want to hear about your treasures from thrift stores… Please share!!!

3 Responses to “Doing My Part… the Goodwill Way”

  1. Becky

    WOW!! Those are some great finds. Don’t you just love a successful trip to a thrift shop? I am jealous of the Visible Man! Well, that you found it at Goodwill I mean. I am not really jealous of the little plastic guy with his insides on the outside for all the world to see.
    And, WOW… you are a teacher! What are you teaching? Or did I miss that somewhere in your post?

  2. Claire

    That’s great! I LOVE thrift stores, especially for books. The boys are always looking at books and asking, “Who is ‘Timmy Caldwell’ and do we have an ‘Aunt Helena’?” at the inscriptions.

    My question for you is how the DC homeschool thing works. I’m very curious about it, in case we move back there sometime. What are you teaching? How many days a week is it? I probably have more questions, but that’s it for now, LOL.

  3. jenna

    Becky… not officially a certified teacher, but with a degree it passes the Inschool’s approval. I’m teaching science to 3-6 grade. I’m a little nervous… we’ll see how it goes!

    That’s hilarious, Claire about the inscriptions. The DC Inschool is twice a month, all day… 9-2. The kids have four classes, 45 minutes long and then recess and lunch in the middle. When you enroll you are under the DC umbrella and do not have to report to your school district. They give you all the curriculum that is used in the school as well. They also have coordinators that you work with that help and check progress… field trips and testing is included. I’m actually still learning about it all myself. Its a pretty big deal… its not a local co-op, its like real school those two days. We even have teacher meeting/devotions in the mornings and have our own teacher lounge. The kids have their pics taken professionally and have the normal class parties, too. If you have any other questions, let me know or I can always ask and find out info.

Leave a Reply

